blog bears I’ve always been fascinated with miniatures. As a child I collected all types of tiny treasures and carefully arranged them in my dollhouse, from food and furniture, to teeny books on a shelf and miniscule paintings on the wall. Although I’m older, I’m still captivated by the detail and meticulous effort involved in creating scaled masterpieces; so as the years have passed my miniature collections have grown right along with me. Mohair bears, Wee Forest Folk mice, my home is littered with a teeny world of companions. A true treasure is my collection of leather bound Knickerbocker Shakespeare pocket volumes; only two inches by three, these books date back to the 1920s and are fragile and well-loved, a piece of history and romance.

wee folkI have no way to explain my fascination with miniatures, but I have found life to contain the same hidden detail, qualities swallowed up by the busy lifestyle of daily routine. I believe it’s good for the soul to take a breath, slow down, admire a snowflake as it falls gracefully from the sky or a butterfly who lights on a branch outside my window. Robert Brault said, “Enjoy the little things in life, for one day you’ll look back and realize they were the big things” and it’s a lesson well learned for adulthood. As children we are all too caught in the immediacy of life, but as we age, if lucky, we learn to appreciate the distinctive qualities that make life worth living.

A friend’s smile, a soothing cup of flavored coffee, an unexpected compliment…they may seem insignificant in this hectic world, but for me they represent the sum of true happiness. What warms your soul and brings a smile to your face? I’d love to hear about your collections too, whether they are large or small, material or gifts of the heart.

 

