What are the boundaries of your beliefs? Do you believe in fate? Destiny? Karma? Do you stand firm that “things happen for a reason” or are we all players in a story where the outcome has already been plotted? How do you feel about Cupid? Soul mates? Kismet? I have a collection of beliefs that are important to me, but I’m not sure they are entirely rational.

Three Beautiful Young Victorian Women

Superstitious? Will you walk under a ladder? Spill the salt and toss a little over your shoulder? How deeply does your belief reach into your soul…and is it an honest belief, consistent and part of your personality, or one that is used for convenience?

I often experience deja vu. Sometimes the situation is so clear for me, I can dictate the conversation verbatim in my head and then watch it play out. I don’t know why this happens. A friend suggested I dream my life before it occurs and simply recall those dreams, but I rarely, very rarely, remember any dreams. Or at least I don’t think so. I guess that’s hard to tell.

I’ve always been fascinated with the “why” of things. Some superstitions have strong stories and historical value. They are easy to trace and understand. But other occurrences, whether coincidence, superstition or intuition, are not so easily explained. How many times have you wondered why that package hasn’t arrived yet, only to return home and find it on the porch? Have you ever second guessed something in the morning, ignored the thought, and have the decision thwart you later in the day?

There are so many amazing stories of people who have heard a voice, some level of intuition, warning them of a situation and they heeded the advice that ultimately saved their life. I like to think of that as an angel whispering in my ear…but I’m not sure scientists would agree.

I recently took a connecting flight where the same gentleman sat beside me coming and going albeit we traveled to different final locations. On the flight out, I expressed I was uneasy because I had never visited the city of my final location and was not familiar with the area. The gentleman explained he’d lived for several years in the city I would be visiting and had only recently moved – even though he wasn’t headed to that city now. He easily answered all my questions and then inquired of my success on the flight home. Is that coincidence or Fate having fun? I was grateful…and a little surprised.

So how in tune are you with you? I have strong beliefs and superstitions about a number of things. I have habits or routines that are important to me. I definitely listen when an angel tips me off and I rarely take reckless chances, but I also believe in destiny and soulmates.  I’m not sure my beliefs would make sense to someone else, especially not a logical, concrete thinker, but they make sense to me.

How about you? Do you believe in a metaphysical supernatural element in life, or do you think that it is all a bunch of fiction?

Not convinced? Read these true coincidences: http://abt.cm/1yExEiK

