new year Happy New Year! What does the new year symbolize for you? I love beginning new things. It could be as simple as opening a book or creating a way to organize, but the start is always the best part for me.

Beginning a new year holds so much potential. I have distinct thoughts and goals for the next twelve months. Most importantly, I need to take a little more time for myself. This past year has been full of excitement, but as always, it’s been easy for me to neglect caring for myself in lieu of other things. I need to rethink my daily routine.

How about you? Do you have set goals in mind? Exercise more? Make smarter choices? Spend money in a different manner? Volunteer? Reconnect? Or do you despise traditional resolutions made in January and broken by February?

I once read a saying that epitomizes the tradition well:

“May your troubles in the New Year last as long as your resolutions”

Not a bad mantra. I’ve tried hard not to let stress get the better of me in 2014 and for the most part I’ve succeeded. It was a promise I made to myself after having bronchitis twice and spending several months of 2014 trying to recover.

So as the New Year grows closer and I reflect on the days of 2014, I am mostly thankful and full of gratitude despite any ups and downs. How was your year? What do you hope for in 2015? Do you believe in resolutions or do you handle life as it comes?

I’d love to hear about your plans for the New Year. Most of all, don’t forget to take time for yourself and reflect on the feelings of your heart.

new years

 

