christy Christy English, I’m honored to call her my friend. Multi-published, multi-talented, and fellow historical romance author ~ Christy’s novels provide the reader with the perfect amount of detail, ingenuity and of course, passion. Her covers are swoon-worthy and her writing refreshing. I’m so excited and know you will be too, so read on!

Getting To Know You

What do you feel is your best and worst quality?

I am a bit of a workaholic. When given the chance to go for a hike or to work on a book, I usually choose to work on a book. Of course, I think this is a quality that all writers share. We all want to be ready, pen and paper, or in my case, laptop in hand to get the story down, and then to re-write it until it shines.

Do you have a quirk you can share?

I love little pink pigs. Not enough to own one and not enough to give up bacon, much to my guilty chagrin, but I have stuffed pigs all over my apartment. Pigs with wings on my sheets and on my cookware, all of which make me laugh.

christy pig

Tell me about something you take pride in outside of writing.

My ability to let go of the past, and to find joy in life. My capacity for joy is one of the things I love most about myself, and one of the things I most enjoy sharing with the people I love.

If money wasn’t an issue, what would you do tomorrow?

I would probably give up my day job, but other than that, I would do what I do now. Hike (when it’s warm), go to movies (all year round), enjoy my family and friends, and write the best novels I know how to write.  I might travel more, but since I moved to Asheville, NC the travel bug has almost left me. There is nothing like living in heaven to make you love where you are.

Getting to Know Your Books

Did you always want to be a writer? Did you pursue a different career? Why?

I have always loved writing, even before I knew it was possible to sell novels so that someone other than my friends and family might read them. Like most writers, I have always worked a day job, too, either as an administrative assistant or some kind of banker to pay for my life. But my writing has always come from and has always been the source of my joy.

I also love to act, which comes from the same inner source as storytelling, but I find that for now at least, novels have happily taken over my creative life. And I love it.

christy book 2

How did you decide on a genre? What is it about this genre that inspires you?

I started out writing historical fiction, and if I ever find another character as compelling as Alais of France and Eleanor of Aquitaine, I will do more of it. But I have also always read and loved historical romance. While I was letting one draft of my first novel THE QUEEN’S PAWN cool, I wrote the first draft of HOW TO TAME A WILLFUL WIFE in six weeks, just watching Caroline and Anthony’s antics unfold on the page in front of me. I was hooked!

What I love best about historical romance is that it is life affirming. Two people who need each other find the best in each other and in themselves. They come together to make love last beyond the last page of the novel. Love in all its forms inspires me, and makes the world a better place.

christy book

What authors do you admire?

My favorite historical fiction author is and always will be the incomparable Mary Renault. I have a ton of favorite romance authors, among whom are Lisa Kleypas and Nicola Cornick.

What is happening with your writing now? What do we have to look forward to?

I am having the best time writing my latest Regency series, Broadswords and Ballrooms, the first of which TERROR OF THE TON is due out in December of this year, if we stay on schedule. In these novels, two Highland brothers bring their untamed, wayward sister South to London to marry her off, only to fall in love themselves. A culture clash ensues! Needless to say, these three novels are comedies.

Thank you so much for stopping by for this chat, Christy!

And readers, don’t miss a minute of what’s happening with Christy’s novels.

Author Bio

Ever since Christy English picked up a fake sword in stage combat class at the age of fourteen, she has lived vicariously through the sword-wielding women of her imagination. Sometimes an actor, always a storyteller, Christy works happily with Sourcebooks Casablanca to bring the knife-throwing women of her novels to life. A banker by day and a writer by night, she loves to eat chocolate, drink too many soft drinks, and walk the mountain trails of her home in North Carolina.

Join Christy on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/ShakespeareInLoveSeries

On Twitter https://twitter.com/ChristyEnglish

And on her blog http://www.christyenglish.com/my-books/

 

